<3 Figshare

figshare

Figshare is becoming my favorite and most trusted scholarly communication service. Just last month I presented at a conference and presented some primarily data regarding Open Access journals. My data, a list of journal titles with additional metadata, was incredibly easy to share–even in the early stages of my research. The data was already publicly available, it was just incredibly clunky to read and use (thanks to giant cvs files). I knew that sharing my data would only increase the amount of feedback that received–and would help others in my research community. All that to say, I decided to upload my data to Figshare.

If you aren’t familiar with Figshare, Figshare is a repository “where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable, and discoverable manner.” Check out their website here:  http://figshare.com/about

Here are some basics about the service:

  • Free to sign up for an account
  • Gives limited space for private data, but lots* of space data you make public
  • Assigns a DOI to uploads
  • Connects with ORCID
  • Gives you statistics on each upload

Check it out today! If you have questions–or want to pass along your uses of Figshare–send an email to openisu@iastate.edu

-Emma

Comments or questions?

